U.S. says it reunifies 57 of 103 young migrants as deadline looms

The Trump administration said on Thursday it has reunified dozens of young migrant children with their parents after they had been separated when crossing the U.S.-Mexico border, hours before a deadline to explain whether it complied with a court order for reunifying families. The government has until 3 p.m. PDT (2200 GMT) to explain to U.S. District Judge Dana Sabraw in San Diego how many children still must be reunited with their parents, and inform him if it met Tuesday's deadline for reuniting children under five. In a statement, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security said that 57 of the 103 children covered by the court case had been reunified, as of 7 a.m. ET (1100 GMT) on Thursday....

3 Published By - Yahoo! News - U.S. News Headlines - 2018.07.12. 17:15
Share |